Skip to the content




The Legend of Zelda is a high fantasy video game series known for its free-roaming gameplay, memorable characters, and beautiful fantasy setting. Often cited as one of the first “open world” video games, the franchise includes 19 installments and has sold more than 80 million copies.

Each game in the series tells an important part of the history of Hyrule, a mythical land created by the goddesses Din, Nayru, and Farore. Before leaving their new world, the goddesses designed an object made of three golden triangles known as the Triforce. The Triforce grants its owner special powers so long as they possess a balance of the goddesses’ three virtues: power, wisdom, and courage.

Many games in the series focus on the Triforce and the characters who possess the individual pieces: the courageous hero Link, the wise princess Zelda, and the powerful dark lord Ganondorf.

Created by Shigeru Miyamoto and Takashi Tezuka in 1986, The Legend of Zelda was inspired by Miyamoto’s childhood in the Japanese countryside. The series has won dozens of awards and has been spun off into comic books, novels, and an animated television series.


  • The Legend of Zelda (1986)
  • Ocarina of Time (1998)
  • Majora’s Mask (2000)
  • Twilight Princess (2006)
  • Skyward Sword (2011)
  • Breath of the Wild (2017)