Skip to the content

George Lucas

With the Star Wars and Indiana Jones franchises, George Lucas created two of the most prominent and enduring brands in entertainment. Behind the scenes, he spearheaded innovations in sound, special effects, and digital filmmaking that revolutionized the industry.

His second film, American Graffiti (1973), established him as a commercial film-maker. Nonetheless, Lucas had difficulty setting up his next film. His hardships were amply rewarded with the release of Star Wars (1977), which had the highest box-office earnings of any film to date. The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983) continued the original saga.

In 1999 Lucas helmed a prequel trilogy: The Phantom Menace (1999), Attack of the Clones (2002) and Revenge of the Sith (2005). After Disney purchased the franchise in 2012, Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015), and Rogue One (2016) were released, with future films planned every year.

Films directed and produced by George Lucas have won numerous Academy Awards. The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences also honored Lucas with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award in 1992.

Induction Year: 2006


THX 1138 (1971)
Star Wars (1977)
The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)
Return of the Jedi (1983)
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984)
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)
The Phantom Menace (1999)
Attack of the Clones (2002)
Revenge of the Sith (2005)