Skip to the content

Connie Willis

Connie Willis is one of the most award-winning authors of speculative fiction to date, with Hugo and Nebula Award wins in all fiction categories.

Her writing often resides in areas of “soft” science fiction, but she also explores hard science fiction settings such as interstellar travel. Willis’ first solo novel, Lincoln’s Dreams (1987) won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award.

Her second novel, Doomsday Book (1992), brought her even more attention, winning both a Hugo and Nebula Award. 1998’s To Say Nothing of the Dog, another Hugo winner, blends science fiction with comedy of manners as a historian from the future bounces between the Victorian era and the Blitz.

Time travel is a favorite Willis theme, also Christmas tales, and the intersections of film and reality. CBS adapted Willis’ novella “Just Like the Ones We Used to Know” into the movie Snow Wonder in 2005.

Induction Year: 2009


Doomsday Book (1992)
Remake (1995)
To Say Nothing of the Dog (1998)
Miracle and Other Christmas Stories (1999)
Passage (2001)
Even the Queen: And Other Short Stories (2015)