Skip to the content


Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury is a beloved author whose career touched on science fiction, fantasy, horror and beyond. An active fan of the genre since the 1930s, he began professionally publishing his stories in 1941.

The Martian Chronicles (1950), a collection of interwoven stories of human attempts to colonize Mars, earned Bradbury a reputation as a versatile, poetic writer. Almost at once he found a new market for short stories in magazines such as Esquire and Saturday Evening Post, a highly significant breakthrough into the general market for a science fiction author.

Bradbury followed with his first novel, Fahrenheit 451 (1951). Featuring a dystopian future in which books are burned because ideas are dangerous, the novel charts the painful spiritual growth of its renegade hero, a book-burning “fireman” and secret reader.

Bradbury's prolific writing ranged from novels to poetry, theater, and television and film screenplays. He won the Nebula Grand Master Award in 1989 for his lifetime achievements.

Induction Year: 1999


Dark Carnival (1947)
The Martian Chronicles (1950)
The Illustrated Man (1951)
Fahrenheit 451 (1953)
The Halloween Tree (1972)


Fahrenheit 451 (1966)
The Martian Chronicles (1980)
The Ray Bradbury Theatre (1985 – 1992)
The Halloween Tree (1993)
A Sound of Thunder (2005)